+88 02 913 49 45, +88 01713 493 171

Follow Us:

University of Alberta


The University of Alberta was founded in 1908 by Alexander Cameron Rutherford, the first premier of Alberta, and Henry Marshall Tory (McGill University alumni), its first president. It is a public research university located in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The university was modelled on the American state university, with an emphasis on extension work and applied research. The governance was modelled on Ontario's University of Toronto Act of 1906: a bicameral system consisting of a senate (faculty) responsible for academic policy, and a board of governors (citizens) controlling financial policy and having formal authority in all other matters. The president, appointed by the board, was to provide a link between the two bodies and perform institutional leadership.


There are five campuses

North Campus
The North Campus is the original location of the University of Alberta. Located on the southern banks of the North Saskatchewan River, it has 150 buildings on 92 hectares (230 acres) of land.
Architect Barton Myers completed the long-range campus plan in 1969 and continued as a planner for the University until 1978.
South Campus
Located two kilometres south of the North Campus, the South Campus is much larger in terms of land area. The two campuses are linked by the convenient high-speed Light Rail Transit. The transit station is near Foote Field and the Saville Community Sports Centre, forming a natural gateway to the new campus architectural model. Since South Campus LRT opened in April 2009, the U of A became the only university in Canada with four LRT/subway stations on its campuses (Along with University, Health Sciences/Jubilee, and Bay/Enterprise Square stations).
Campus Saint-Jean
The Campus Saint-Jean is a francophone campus located five kilometres east of the main campus, in Bonnie Doon. It is the only French-language university campus west of Manitoba. Due to increasing enrolment, the Campus Saint-Jean is currently undergoing expansion, acquiring new laboratory and classroom spaces.
Augustana Campus
The Augustana Campus is located in Camrose, a small city in rural Alberta about 100 km southeast of Edmonton. In 2004, the former Augustana University College in Camrose merged with the University of Alberta, thus creating the new satellite Augustana Campus. Students enrolled at the Augustana Campus currently may pursue four-year Bachelor's degrees in arts, sciences, or music.
Enterprise Square
Enterprise Square opened for business January 15, 2008 on the north side of the North Saskatchewan river in downtown Edmonton. It is located in the historical building previously occupied by the Hudson's Bay Company.

Faculties and Programs

Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences Agricultural Food and Nutritional Science
Devonian Botanic Garden
Forest Science and Management, Alberta School of
Human Ecology
Renewable Resources
Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology
Alberta School of Business
Accounting, Operations and Information Systems, Finance and Statistical Analysis, Marketing, Business Economics, and Law, Strategic Management and Organization Arts
Anthropology, Art and Design, Drama, East Asian Studies, Economics, English and Film Studies, History and Classics, Interdisciplinary Studies, Linguistics, Modern Languages and Cultural Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Women's Studies Augustana Campus
Fine Arts, Humanities, Science, Social Sciences Campus Saint-Jean
Educational Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Elementary Education, Secondary Education Engineering
Biomedical Engineering, Chemical and Materials Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, School of Mining and Petroleum Engineering Extension
Arts, Communications, Education, English Language (ESL), Government Studies, Management, Sciences Graduate Studies and Research
Library and Information Studies, School of Medicine & Dentistry
Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Cell Biology, Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, Medical Genetics, Medical Microbiology and Immunology, Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Oncology, Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physiology, Psychiatry, Radiology and Diagnostic Imaging, Surgery, Native Studies
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Physical Education and Recreation
Public Health, School of Rehabilitation Medicine
Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Pathology and Audiology, Science
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computing Science, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, Physics, Psychology, St. Joseph's College
St. Steph